Being okay with the blank

We all are scared of the blank.

When we sit to write/create art/paint/write musical notes, we all need to deal with that blank every time we sit to do something meaningful.

Today, when I sat to write a post as my everyday commitment to writing, I saw the blank was bigger than I could handle. I didn’t know what to write. I didn’t have any ideas to write upon.

I just opened ‘add a new post’ and started writing. Then I realized that the post is not blank anymore. I have written something, few words.

And now, I am in flow.

So, the best way to deal with a blank page or blank head is to act upon whatever comes along. If you wait to think too long, you may not tame this giant.

But does it sound too simplistic/generic?

Use this simple 3 step formula when you face the blank page and you don’t have any ideas coming along –

1. Just write/paint/draw. It is usually the judgment about the quality that stops us from going further. You can edit or redo it whenever the phase is over. This sense of blankness usually comes from over-creative-expression. If you have done too much in recent times, you can experience this kind of stuck-ness. But that’s okay. Just start and everything will be fine just in few minutes.

2. Don’t judge/edit immediately. It is usually when we edit, we don’t let ourselves flow freely on the blank page. Just type/paint. Take your brush or pen and create until you are not in the flow. When will you realize you are in the flow? When you don’t need to pressurize your mind to think about it, it will come naturally.

3. Practice one tasking. If you do multi-tasking while creating art, like checking your emails in every few minutes or checking Facebook updates, it would not be pleasant for you to deal with blank. Disconnect the internet when you write/create or throw out any distraction at least during this period of time. Concentrate on one thing – creating.

If you follow these 3 steps, you will be in flow in minutes.

You see, I just did write a post even if I was blank in the beginning…You can too πŸ˜‰

 

10 thoughts on “Being okay with the blank

    1. Thanks for dropping by Pankaj and I appreciate your valuable response πŸ™‚ Yes, one tasking is hard in the beginning, but once we practice it for a month or so, one task at a time, it becomes gravy…great to get connected πŸ™‚

  1. Sooooo true Sayantan, three great points you pick up there. When I sit down to write I let it flow, whatever comes to my mind, words, unfinished thoughts, associations, memories…. etc. without worrying about spelling mistakes, style and so on. I first of all just want to get it all out and on paper before forgetting again. I let my drafts “sit and rest”. I go over each of my texts several times, rewrite, rethink, re-arrange, correct and edit. And then, when I think the piece is ready to be published, I wait another day and go over it one last time.

    1. That’s a great way Heila…Though I personally don’t wait so long to publish any short post because most of the time, it distracts me to move on to my next creation..but in case of books/long articles I give at least a week to a month time to edit and re-edit…thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚

  2. Great advice… practicing it is sometimes a challenge but I’m sure I’ll get there eventually. Some days are easier than others which is all I can ask for at the moment. All is well..
    Blessings Susan

  3. Great post, and very handy tips. It is important to remind myself of these, because even though they seem so logical, it is easy to fall into bad habits, or simply forget. Thanks Sayantan, keep up the awesome work!

Leave a Reply

